Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the passage, the author believes that the obesity rate of Benton city will be lower than the national average because of changed lifestyles. To prove his argument, he compares the resulst of survey regarding government nutrional recommendations ten years ago and now, states the change in sales of kirand and sulia. Although this argument may seem convinicing at first, the lack of answers to the questions below lead me to cast doubt on the validity of argument.

To begin with, he needs to answer whether the survey results about goverment recommendations could be credibly used to support his arugment. Because the exact statistics are not mentioned, it is entirely possible that the change is negligible. In this case, the change will not make noticeable shift in the ratio of obese people in the city. Furthermore, the conditions of ten years ago and now must be similiar to make a sound comparison. If the city was suffered from economic crisis ten years ago, it is natural that people would not follow nutriotional recommendations. In such a case, increase mentioned in survey would be just a temporary situation.

Another question that should be answered is that sales of kiran and sulia are suitable evidence for the argument. It is mentioned that the healthiest people are disinclined to eat sulia. However, their hate toward sulia is not necessarily mean that sulia is a bad diet. There is high chance that the healthiest residents just dislike the sulia because of their bad taste or abhorable odor not their bad nutritions. Also, even if the sulia is deleterios for health, what about other food and substances? It is hasty generalization to say that people’s eatting habits changed in a positive way just because only sales of kiran and sulia changed in that way.

Last question that must be answered is whether the obesity rate will actually decrease in the future. Even if the eatting habits changed in a positive way, it is entirely possible that the time devoted for exercises decreased dramatically. In such a case, obesity ratio will not decline below the national average. Moreover, what about other cities? It is plausible that other cities’ residents also changed eatting habits and their obesity ratio would decrease more faster than Benton city. If this is case, the obesity ratio of the Benton city will remain to be higher than the national average in the future.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive in many grounds. To bolster the argument, the author needs to answer the questions about the validity of recent survey, sales of kiran and sulia, and other cities’ conditions.