105. Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Imagination and experience are the fundamental sources of development of civilization. By the imagination, for example, the past people thought what would feel if they could fly. And this imagination was realized by the accumulated experience that helped create an airplane. Even though both imagination and experience are crucial to human life, I disagree with the statement that imagination is a more valuable than experience and the reason suggested above.

Granted, by the assistance of imagination, people can think about what is impossible and unrealistic. This kind of thinking fulfills the people’s desire to explore the unknown. For instance, people have curiosity unquenchable by the experience since it could not take place or observe in reality. The common curiosity among all the people is the questions like “does the god exist?” or “what would happen if we die?”. These kind of questions are highly intriguing, but could not be answered by the experience. Rather, people could imagine about the artificial reality in their own mind to explore answers to those questions. Even though the questions listed could not be perfectly explored by the imagination, it is only imagination which enables people to alleviate the curiosity inside them. However, unlike the reason stated above, in most cases, the imagination is shackled by the former habits or presuppositions. This is because, at least to some extent, the imagination is based on the experiences. Take an example of harry porter, which is quite imaginative novel. The novel deals with the world where the magic exists. However, the user of the magic is human. It is highly likely that if such a world exists, magicians could be other than human existence. Like this, imagination is affected by the established way of thinking based on experiences.

Moreover, in consideration of the impact on real life, the imagination pales in comparison with the experience. This is because most of the invents and products are made from an abundance of trial and error, which is exactly the experience. For instance, the Thomas Edison made a lightbulb with countless experiments. Without the experience he couldn’t made the such an affordable and beneficial product that changed the aspect of people’s real life.

In conclusion, the experience is much more beneficial than experience because it leads to betterment of the people’s life and effects the contents of imagination. Therefore, we should experience more to make out life more better and imagine much more.