The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions that the study has adequate evidence and outside factors do not play a role in perceived outcomes. Concluding that Parkville should discontinue athletic competitions for children under nine based on the prior stated assumptions is unreasonable.

Firstly, the author fails to provide evidence to support data collected by the study. To start, it is not mentioned how the study that the letter refers to, was conducted. In self-reporting surveys the interviewee tends to be untruthful and not completely fixed on an answer. If this specific study also used the method of self-reporting without additional research conducted, it could render the study unreliable. On the other hand, if the letter presented information that demonstrated that the study was handled through the observation of researchers and not self-declaration of children, then the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, it cannot be guaranteed that personal biases of the researchers were not reflected in their results.

Additionally, the arguer neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine, the study in the argument indeed is an observational study and is unbiased, it is still illogical to discontinue athletics for children. The author continues to speculate that other aspects of the environment are not influencing the decreased time dedicated to schoolwork. For example, it may be that children have plenty of time after school and their extracurricular physical activities to focus on academics, but they might choose to play on their gaming consoles like the play station instead. If this were the case, the argument would be unjustified because children would be favoring other activities instead of academic-related activities. However, if the argument shed light on data that proved children did not have enough time after physical activities to complete academics, the argument would hold more validity. But even so, it cannot be stated with complete confidence that children would complete and take part in academic activities if they had the time.

Lastly, the argument is built upon undescriptive statements. The letter states “…over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries.” Although, the author does not entail the total population that is being considered. There is a possibility that 40,000 children out of a total of 1,000,000 reported being injured. This would hold less value than if there were only 50,000 players in a sample size. Because it is not subsumed in the letter there is no way to be sure of the population the author is mentioning. Had the author shed light and confirmed that the same size was 40,000, the argument would still lack how these specific injuries were obtained, further undermining the argument.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author is unsuccessful in compiling a compelling case that Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine.