The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Health Naturally seems confident that opening up stores in Plainsville would be highly profitable since residents here are highly concerned with leading healthy lives and would surely purchase its health-related products. However, there are three main assumptions made to reach this conclusion that makes the argument weak.

Firstly, the vice president believes that since the local health club, which was nearly shut down about 5 years ago due to lack of business, has more members now than ever with classes being always full, this could be a substantial reason for the residents of Plainsville to be interested in Health Naturally products. The question that comes to mind is, do we know why there was a lack of business earlier? Or the reason for the business to be booming now? The shortage in business could have been due to lack of expert trainers in the club or due to inadequate infrastructure. With changes in the infrastructure and staff, the residents are currently enjoying the club's services and are hence more active. Also, the classes are "full" maybe due to the required strength of the class being minimal. No information is provided on the same. Hence, if the above reasonings hold true, then the argument made is insufficient as it fails to assure the profits that the vice president so confidently states.

Another reason to point our doubts towards the vice president's argument is that he assumes that since the school children are also involved in daily fitness activities, there would be contribution to the company revenues from this section of the Plainsville population as well. Why would students purchase health food and products at such an early age as a booster to their fitness levels? Why would parents endorse new packaged brands for their children's health? Wouldn't they rather have their children consume the natural healthy options available to them like fruits and nuts instead of packaged proteins for all we know! If the above argument proves to be true, the argument posed in the memorandum fails to hold water.

Last but not the least, another assumption made by the vice president is that based on his previous experience. Since stores have been profitable in areas with residents highly concerned with leading healthy lives, opening stores in Plainsville would also bring in high profits as it has similarly enthusiastic residents. How can we compare the people of two different towns based on just one factor, i.e., their interest in leading healthy lives? Maybe the residents of areas as per the vice president's earlier experiences belonged to a high income bracket who could afford to buy such products. Whereas, the residents of Plainsville belonging to the middle class believe that regular exercise is sufficient and are not very keen on investing in health related products. If true, the assumption made in the memorandum stands moot.

In conclusion, the arguments provided in the memorandum by the vice president of Health Naturally fails to stand ground due to the inaccurate assumptions on which it is based upon. We would need further information as discussed above to perform a detailed analysis of the prospects of expanding the business to Plainsville.