Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

I surely do agree with the argument stated that discussing controversial topics with someone having an opposing point of view would be a waste of time! Imagine trying to convince Hitler that the Jews are innocent.

As the prompt suggests, controversial topics should be tread upon warily when among a group of highly opinionated people, especially those with contrasting views to your point of argument. This is because people who are highly dogmatic in their views are hardly susceptible to any change. They have a very parochial outlook towards life and are arrogant enough to think they can never be wrong. In such cases, one trying to put across one's opinion on the table for consideration would be a purely futile attempt at discussing the sensitive topic. For the dogmatic person would merely scoff at the possibility of the thought of an oppposing idea.

Well, there might be exceptions to the "very few people" mentioned in the prompt, ones who are willing to listen to your perspective and consider another's opinion on a matter of discussion. One should be aware of identifying such individuals among their circle of people in order to pursue a healthy debate on any topic. These individuals might have their own set of core beliefs but are unlike those who are blindly dogmatic, refusing to even consider an opposing perspective.

Hence, in conclusion, we must realise that the conversing of sensitive topics would be a waste of one's time and effort when the person at the receiving end has already shut his ears.