The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of the food distribution company very confidently states in the memo that switching back to Buzzoff pest control services from the current contract with FLy Away Pest Control would be the best means to save money and food damage. This reasoning is based on the fact that since the hiring of Fly Away Pest Control Company, the amount of food damage has been double that of the previous. However, we need more evidence to determine the cause of damage before we reach any conclusion.

The vice president, in making the decision of returning to Buzzoff services makes a hasty assumption - the sole reason for the pest damage is the incompetency of the Fly Away Pest Control services. However, we cannot be too sure. What if there was pest outbreak in the entire city which could have caused significant level of damage all over the city resulting in the higher numbers at the warehouse that month? We do not know how well the Buzzoff services would be able ot handle the outbreak. Further, what if the Fly Away Pest Control services, are the among the best in the city and actually held the record of the least damage caused to any warehouse during that period? Thus, considering the above questions and statements were true, it would be foolhardy to blame the pest control company and the conclusion reached could cost the vice president even more.

Another assumption made is that the food stored in the Palm City warehouse is of optimal quality. There could veyr well be a possibility that the food stocked in at the warehouse in Palm City last month was of cheaper and poorer quality than those loaded in Wintervale. If this were to be true, the vice president's decision based on just a month's observation without considering other factors would prove the argument moot.

Last but not the least, the vice president assumes that the buzzoff Pest control services at Wintervale were very efficient in their job and produced little damage. Probably, the 10,000$ worth damage mentioned in the memo was too large a number for Wintervale. Maybe this would have been first of such incidences in Wintervale where owing to the climatic conditions, damage due to pests is a rare event. If this scenario were to be valid, the purpose of the argument made would fail to hold water.

Hence, in order to make a well informed decision, the vice president must clearly take into consideration the above factors discussed on the cause of the food damage and then proceed to deliberate on reverting back to Buzzoff services.