The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The argument stated in the West Lansburg News requests the council to prevent the construction of a road along the coastal wetlands. It reasons that a similar action taken up in a neighbouring place caused the species population of that region to decline. However, this argument has been made based on a few widely unstated assumptions.

To begin with, the author of the letter assumes that the sanctuary is Eatern Carpenteria is comparable to that of West Lansburg. There are few questions to be addressed here. On what basis is the sanctuary at East Carpenteria 'similar' to the one in West Lansburg? Is the environment of the region similar to that of the coastal wetlands of Lansburg? And , on what grounds can we compare the survival chances of a tufted groundhog to that of a sea otter? Probably, sea otters have a different set of factors that their survival relies on (as compared to the groundhogs). Further, the habitat of the sea otters discussed here is a backwater and not a coastal wetland and hence had different ramifications. If the above were true, the argument proposed fails to hold water.

Another assumption made is that the population decline of sea otters in Easter Carpenteria was solely due to the repeal of the sanctuary status in 1978. Is the author confident that there were no other factors or probably a natural calamity that took place that year causing the decline? What if there was a drought in the region that year which led to the water levels in the region to drop significantly resulting in a massive increase in the deaths of the water creatures such as the sea otters themselves. Or probably mass hunting of the otters by the residents of Carpenteria owing to their dislike of the creature could be another reason for the decline in numbers. If this were to be true, the author has failed to consider other factors in making his conclusion that the repeal of sanctuary status was the only reason for the sea otters' decline.

Further the author assumes that the tufted groundhog which once numbered in millions as per the ancient records is of a low count today. We have been provided with no such information on the present day counts of the tufted groundhog. What if the present population of the this creature has increased to such an extent that they have begun penetrating into the residential areas of Lansburg causing a nuisance to the people there. In such a scenario, rather than preserving their habitat , the council must deliberate on how to curb the increasing count so as to maintain the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy and peaceful environment. The construction of a road along the sanctuary could rather aggrandize tehe influx of the groundhog into the residential zones. Hence, the reasonin put forth by the author to maintain the regions biodiversity needs more consideration.

In conclusion, the author of the letter must reconsider his stand and provide answers to the three assumptions pointed out