A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The recommendation provided in the prompt that a nation should have a national curriculum defined for the students until high school is very much a valid point. This would help establish a uniformity in assessing all test-taking students across the country and provide equal opportunities.

Further exploring the point made, let us discuss with an example. India, a country with a great range of diversity in terms of culture and location in addition to its vast population is a prime example of where a national curriculum will prove to be of utmost benefit. Currently, the government has provided multiple options of board exam patterns from which the student or parents can choose to study until high school. In addition, every state has a disparate state board level examination pertaining to that individual state. Here, the scoring levels also differ. Hence a student belonging to one board may score very highly whereas another student of equal calibre might obtain a poorer score from another board. Designing a national curriculum for all the students would hence preclude such injustice and establish uniformity in the education system.

Another reason for the national curriculum to prove beneficial is that it would provide all the students a standardised platform to apply further to colleges. The colleges which would assess students earlier based on their score and the board they belong to, would now have to refer the equalised scores of all. Further, there would be no option to discriminate among boards which a college would probably be habitual of before this established practice. Each and every individual would stand a fair chance at the application process as the only metric they would be measured against is their merit.

Some might believe that a national curriculum, if not appropriately designed would not provide adequate knowledge and might leave out important topics based on the designing committee's bias. Rather, a system with multiple boards as of that in India, would create individuals of varied backgrounds and knowledge and provide a flexibility to the students as per their choice. However, I believe that learning doesn't stop at school. One always has the choice to learn if he or she is truly interested in the topic. Hence, he or she can make use of various other resources for the same.