The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie production Company, in his memo, concludes that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget to advertising in the coming year in order to reach out more people. The conclusion reached upon is based on arguments that are rife with fallacies.

To begin with, the director states that over the past year, the number of people attending the Super screen produced movie was lesser than previous years. However, the percentage of positive reviews have increased and thus the director believes that their content is not reaching enough viewers. Here, the first assumption made is that of the strength of people viewing Super screen movies being the least until today. We have no information to prove the above point. Secondly, the increase in positive reviews from the few who watched the movies could be because they were the only few who probably appreciated the Super screen produced movies and not because the movies were actually good. Last but not the least, how do we know that the content is "not" reaching enough viewers? What if their content is boring and insipid for the taste of the people? Hence, if the above questions and reason is true, the argument made on the increase in positive reviews fails to hold water.

Another major fallacy in the assumption made by the director is the understanding of the root cause of the problem. The director believes that the public lacks general awareness of "quality" movies and their production company surely delivers one. Herein lies the error in the argument. On what basis is the director so confident that his company produces "quality movies"? How can he simply reason his failure to generate revenue to people's lack of awareness? If the questions above were to be answered, the director would need substantial proof and reasoning to prove the same which he fails to mention in his recommendation. Hence, the argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, I would like to conclude by saying that we would require further evidence and reasoning from the director to support the recommendation made to increase the budget for advertising in order to gain more viewers.