The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

A leader is one who doesn't lead from the front, but rather takes his people along with him every step of the way. This can occur only when the leader is open to feedbacks and criticisms from his team. It is rightly said, that a leader is the best one if he or she can take in criticisms and apply them to produce the favourable solution.

A leader by definition is one who leads the pack. And he is chosen because he holds the necessary leadership qualities that can help coalesce the team's efforts to fruition in the most efficient manner. Thus, he must lead the team by example through his own manners and conduct. Any activity is best accomplished by a team if everyone works cohesively, i.e., team work is essential. For this to be effective, all the team members must learn to be open to feedback from their peers and take it positively in their stride. The leader, himself must set an example to his or her team to be open to ideas and feedback , irrespective of the person or his designation. This behaviour in turn brews a strong sense of team work and helpfulness among the team members.

A leader who encourages feedback from the people he or she leads also displays a sense of humility which is an essential characteristic of a leader. Many times, various leaders have displayed arrogance that comes with the power and responsibility of the office that they hold. However, this has mostly lead to their downfall. They were leaders who dictated the public but were never loved and respected and rather feared by their subordinates. Take the example of Hitler and Gandhi, the former was a feared dictator whom people loathe until today while the latter is the prime example of the prompt stated - one who lead the masses by listening to them and walking along with them.