The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

What the future holds, no one knows. But technology is here to stay for sure. With advances in machine learning and artificial intelligence and other key fields in science, it is needless to say that technology will become a necessary skill for every individual in the near future. Hence, the argument stated to implement mandatory computer programming lectures for students is a smart decision.

However, as the argument further states to provide the reason for the decision taken, there are some flaws observed in the assumptions made. The argument states that 'all' the students, on attending the computer classes, will develop the necessary programming skills required to land themselves in high-paying fulfilling jobs. The first flaw in the argument stated is the assumption that 'all' students will secure high-paying jobs. The argument fails to consider those students who might dislike the subject or might be weak at it to even clear the credits, let alone sit for placements. Even if he or she manages to achieve the credits assigned and bags a job during the placements, how is one sure that he or she would lead a "fulfilling life" knowing the fact that they hate the subject. To lead a 'fulfilling life' by meaning, is no where near to landing a high profile job.

The argument further goes on to assume, every student studying computer programming to land a high-paying job which is an error in the argument itself. Every individual is born with different capabilities and skills. To assume, that each student is equally talented in one field because all are trained under one roof, is a another flaw in the argument. Further, as every individual has different skill sets, a data scientist role may not be the 'best job' for him as he might have an interest in soccer( for example). Thus, we cannot take into account that all the tudents would perform exceptionally and fetch high-paying jobs of software engineers when made to attend the computer programming classes.

Lastly, I do agree to the fact stated in the argument that even if they pursue other careers, they would atleast have learnt the basics of the technology which would help them in any industry