The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt provided is apt in its statement which asserts that the best way possible to prepare the future leaders viz, the youth of today, in the government or any other field is through instilling a more cooperative sense rather than a competitive one. This is definitely a propitious advice due to a few reasons.

The youth of today, are vibrant and filled with a fresh outlook towards anything per say (as compared to those currently holding leadership positions today). When a sense of cooperation is instilled among them, a spirit of team work is also established. Team work has always proven to be productive. With the idea of cooperation and team work instilled in our young leaders, we would be able to nurture leaders who are open to various different opinions and hence, be able to create an amalgamation of all the ripe ideas they can produce in order to further ponder upon them and conclude on the most suitable approach. This approach would definitely help create successful leaders who are always ready to listen to their subordinates or anyone for that matter.

Well, competition is a way of life which simply can't be avoided. Be it among the plants or the animal kingdom. It is how the survival of humans has been established. Hence, one might argue that, a competitor is necessary to oppose the current candidate for a particular leadership position so as to portray a different perspective of the issue and bring about diversity in opinion. Agreed, however, in such situations, the candidates tend to become selfish and more focussed on their success and hence digress from the bigger picture. Instead, if the two candidates rather come together and further deliberate and debate on the best outcome to their problem in a healthy manner, would lead to a better coalesced and fruitful solution.

Hence, in conclusion, although I do realise that a competition is unavoidable to obtain leadership roles across various sectors, the sense of cooperation is surely necessary to be instilled among our young leaders in order to prepare them to become successful ones.