Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Well, to begin with, the argument provided lacks substance. To state that 'two' cups of green tea would not have the side effects mentioned in the premise is without reason.

The first question that comes to mind is why 'two cups' have been set as the intake limit on green tea? How did the study result in quantifying the number of cups of green tea to be set to two? Moreover, how does one come to reason the size of these two cups? The definition might vary for many. Some might have cups as large as to hold 250ml of tea while some would hold cups as small as 50ml. The argument stated has to be more specific I'm afraid.

Moving on, to understand more on the significance of intake levels of green tea, we need to delve further into the 'long term study' conducted. First and foremost, how many people were a part of the study that concluded on three cups being the threshold level of intake? The numbers will surely substantiate the argument to be held on a reasonable premise. If the numbers turn out to be a mere five to seven people, then the study conducted is not sufficient to conclude on the argument stated.

Further, we need more information on the details of the individuals (if any) that took part in the study. For example, the age group of people considered while performing the experiment. If the individual is above 60, he or she is likely to have sleeplessness and headaches as common events that come with age , and hence the results produced would be moot. Another reason of doubt could be the personal habit of the individual himself. If he is a caffeine addict himself, the experiment conducted on him would again merely be futile since the results would be invalid.

Hence,I would like to conclude by stating that we lack the fundamental information on the environment in which the study was conducted in order to proceed with our evaluation and hence the argument put forth is moot.