It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Before we begin to assess our standing on the prompt stated, we must understand whom we would like to declare as heroes. Is it someone who does a great self less deed? Or someone who portrays to be one of selfless deeds? However, I do believe, our society does consist of people worthy of being called heroes of our day.

To begin with, let us discuss the definition of a hero. While it may vary for every individual, one's hero is likely to be a person whom one looks up to and aspires to become someday! This so called hero could well be a father, a mother, an elder sibling or even some notable person in the society. Whilst violence and vices are at its peak in our society today, there still exists a significant number of people who are playing their part of being a hero to many. Let us take the example of Kailash Satyarthi. He is a human rights activist mainly involved in campaigning for child rights. While there existed heartless humans who would would make children as young as of the age 7 to do manual labor, the world gave a kind and courageous soul as that of Kailash who braved all odds and took drastic measures to fight against this inhumanity. And it was rewarding journey! He successfully liberated more than 90,000 children from child labor, slavery and trafficking. If this act is not considered commensurate of a hero, I doubt anything else is.

Another example I would like to illustrate in order to cite another human hero amongst us, is that of a "not so popular" Indian film actor - Sonu Sood. With India being one of the most populated countries in the world along with a high percentage of cheap labor population among it, this subset of labor population met with tremendous difficulties during the Covid-19 lockdown period. Thousands were stranded in multiple cities as inter-state transport was banned. Hundreds of them facing starvation since they were left penniless in an unknown city. This particular Indian actor, took efforts to make ends meet for these citizens. He arranged for special buses and trains which carried the daily wage laborers back to their home town. He further booked an entire flight for a group of laborers stranded in Delhi, trying to find their way back to Mumbai! Rather, he went so far as to bring back stranded Indian citizens in Dubai , safely back home. Unlike other wealthy or popular actors of the film industry, he did not hesitate to help the people in the hour of need rather than saving up his money for some fancy likings.

In conclusion, while some people say that the world today is filled with hatred and violence , citing the examples of riots or deaths, I would request them to find the good in people and keep up the hope as where there is hope, there is light. And good people will surely turn up at the right time as your hero.