The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

With the latest technologies today, social media is a great platform for anyone to showcase their talent. It only takes a few clicks and probably seconds after, that the post goes completely viral all over the internet gathers innumerous likes or dislikes. However, to be judge of the real talent of a person is beyond just the popularity of the individual and hence must be evaluated on factors germane to his or her profession.

To state that the real talent of a popular musician can be accurately assessed only after the death of the individual is far-fetched. As stated earlier, popularity and talent are two different sides of the same coin. For example, consider Lil Wayne or Honey Singh, both rappers, one based out of U.S. and the other from India. Their popularity knows no bounds. Their music is mainly a collection of musical screed on a particular topic which somehow the deranged youth of the country are highly attracted to. However, that doesn't define their degree of talent. Yes , it does speak of their talent to engage and attract crowds to their art but when considering their musical talent - not really. Hence, it would be moot to state that the real talent could be assessed after their death while it can be very well evaluated at this point in time.

Another reason to disagree with the stated prompt is that an honest assessment should be independent of fame. If the artist is truly talented, he os she must be approbated for the same irrespective of the fame. The critics must realise and consider the technicalities of the art while assessing any musician. Consider the example of Shreya Ghoshal, an enormously talented singer in the Bollywood industry. Well, her works are of a wide range in variety and she is one of the best singers in the country. Nevertheless, this status has not been accorded to her owing to her popularity among the masses but her talent and versatility as a singer. Hence, awaiting the death of an artist in order for the fame to die down and then assess their talent is foolhardy.

I, however, do concede that talent and popularity go hand in hand and that one is popular probably because he or she is talented. But, in today's time, where people are so capricious and reactive to every update on social media, it's easy to like or dislike something in a moment's time. To actually evaluate the worth of an artisr would need careful assessment by the respective critics who must consider the weighing in factors while doing so.

Hence, I would like to conclude by saying, the real talent of a popular musician can be assessed while he or she is very much alive based on a series of key factors the critics deem right keeping in mind , popularity should not be at the top of that list.