Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Students’ academic performance is contingent on several factors which subsume students abilities to comprehend what is being taught and teacher’s dexterity and effectiveness. However, basing a pedagogue’s salary on the grades of students is unjustifiable as it is hard to determine if the student’s performance was as a result of the teacher’s teaching or some other factors. Hence, pupils’ academic performance should not be used to justify teachers’ remuneration but to determine teacher’s efficacy.

Using pupils’ academic performances to determine pedant’s salaries might spur the teacher to lower the grading standards, thereby making students score higher marks. Evidently, this does not improve the student’s performance. Rather, the teacher, whose salaries is based on student’s performance, would receive tremendous increase in remuneration. Although, this is beneficial to teacher, it is highly detrimental on the student and on the society at large as educational institution will begin to churn out incompetent professionals.

Apart from teachers being incited to reducing marking standards, teachers will also increase point marks that are awarded to questions. Through this, we will begin to see extraneous marks awarded to trivial questions in students exams. The upshot of this is that students will get higher marks and these students will be largely unable to solve complex questions. In addition, these students will not develop the critical thinking skills required to take on real life challenges. Hence, the true essence of education, which is to beget true competent dabs, will not be served.

Some reasonable individuals might cavil that teachers whose students are not performing up to expectation, should not receive quality remuneration since it is clear from the students’ performance that the teacher is a chump. This is true to some extent. But we need to consider other factors that must have led to the students’ poor performance such as motivation to learn, availability of conducive learning facilities, and mental capacity to learn. The teacher might be virtuos at his occupation but with these factors serving as impediments to the pedagogue’s exertions, the students’ performance will surely reflect poorly on the teacher’s efforts.

In conclusion, student’s educational performance is dependent on several factors, part of which include teacher’s efficiency. It is totally absurd to then say because of this, the society should base teacher’s renumeration on pupils’ performance. Other causes might have led students to perform poorly or brilliantly. Therefore, a teachers’ salary should not be based on student’s performance but their level in the echelon of teaching.