GRE sample argument pool essay topic 169

The following appeared in a newsletter published by the Appleton school district.

"In a recent study more than 5,000 adolescents were asked how often they ate meals with their families. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Furthermore, according to the same survey, teens who reported having the most family meals per week were also the ones least likely to have tried illegal drugs, tobacco, and alcohol. Family meals were also associated with lower rates of problems such as low grades in school, low self-esteem, and depression. We therefore recommend that families have as many meals together as possible. We predict that doing so will greatly benefit adolescents and turn troubled teens away from bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss which questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the newsletter, the writers recommend that families have as many meals together as possible, as this will have a positive impact on adolescents and help troubled teens stay away from harmful activities. However, the conclusion relies on three unfounded assumptions that significantly weaken the validity of the recommendation if left unsubstantiated. The following three questions must be answered in order to better evaluate the recommendation.

Firstly, was the survey, which asked teens about the number of meals they ate per week with their families, conducted in a scientific manner? It could be possible that the survey was only conducted for students attending a private institution in an affluent neighborhood. These students would be able to spend a lot more time with their families in the evenings than students who may have only one parent who works full-time to provide for them. If this were found to be the case, it would significantly weaken the argument made by the writers.

Second, was the data regarding the students who have tried drugs, tobacco, and alcohol accurate? Students would have an incentive to lie about not having tried these vices as they could lead to trouble. Perhaps a student only secretly smokes, when alone. Hence, it would be impossible to determine, whether such a student has used tobacco without them admitting to it themselves. If this is the case, then the writers’ argument does not hold water.

Finally, is it possible that it is just a coincidence that students who more frequently have family meals, are the ones with lesser problems? Just because the two cases are associated does not mean that having a greater number of meals with one’s family is the reason for a student having better academic performance and staying away from trouble. It is possible that a student studies 3 hours a day and also has most of their meals with their family. In this case, the number of hours a student studies would influence their grades more than having meals with their family. If this is the case then the argument made by the writers is unreasonable.

In conclusion, while it is possible that having a greater number of meals per week with their families significantly benefitted the students, the above questions must be answered before the validity of the recommendation can be evaluated. Therefore, the writers should find evidence regarding: the backgrounds students taking the survey came from, whether data about students using tobacco, drugs or alcohol is credible, and whether there were no other factors involved which could have led to a better lifestyle by students.