Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The advancement of technology has provided new avenues of learning for present day students. With the spread of COVID-19, technology has completely changed the way teachers deliver their lessons to their students. In response to the rapid use of computers, video lectures, and the internet in the field of education, the prompt claims that these technologies too often distract students from real learning. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt for the following two reasons, although I do concede that in some cases the use of technology might not be the best way to instruct students.

Firstly, for certain subjects such as Computer Science the use of technology is non-negotiable. For instance, writing code can be taught without a computer. But doing so often leads to syntax errors and bugs which go unnoticed. If the same coding were to be done on a computer, the editor would automatically highlight errors, thus allowing students to correct their mistakes. The same is true in fields such as Architecture and Mechanical Engineering, where traditional drawing is being supplanted by Computer Aided Design (CAD). If institutions continue instructing students with paper drawing, the students are likely to have difficulties finding jobs, as most of companies have shifted to using Computer Aided Design software. Therefore, in fields such as these institutions must recognize the changing trends and incorporate the use of technology.

The use of technology also allows students to study remotely, at times they find convenient. For example, if a student was sick and missed school, previously the only way to learn what was missed was asking peers for help. Now, however, many schools have started recording lectures for students to go through later, in case they miss classes or have doubts. Also, often times teaching on computer makes things easier for the teachers. For example, instead of having to draw out a complex diagram of the anatomy of the human digestive system, a biology teacher can save time by simply show an image on screen and use it to explain different organs. In this way, the use of technology has made life easier for students, as well as teachers.

Although there are many benefits to technology, it must be acknowledged that forcing teachers, who prefer to use traditional methods of teaching, to use technology can lower the quality of teaching. For example, an old teacher who was born in the 1960s might not be sufficiently adept at using computers, and he would waste precious lecture time in figuring out how to do so. Even if he were to learn how to use computers, the quality of education could be worse than before. Hence in such a case, the use of technology would end up taking away from real learning.

In conclusion, the debate about the use of technology in the field of education is a complex one, with arguments for both sides. There are certain cases, as stated above, where using technology is possibly not the best option. However, it is clear that the benefits of technology such as online video lectures and the need for technology in certain fields, make a strong case for the incorporation of technology into the existing methods of teaching.