The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the given statement that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. Human civilization goes a long way back and the journey thus far has been quite a interesting one. From the ancient rustic life to the current luxuries life, the difference is huge.

If we go through the historical graph, the main mantra of civilization has been the " struggle for existance". Those who wanted to live, had to struggle in one way or another. Though it still stand valid today, the phrase was more relevent in the ancient days where the people had to be physically fit and attentive even just to live. The modern day sophistication like transportation, means of communication, etc. have made the life easier for people but at the same time, over-reliance on those have helped in gradually turning the human race weaker and unhealthy. One can always argue that the choice of healthy or unhealthy life is of the individual and it has nothing to do with the development and conveniences available. However, it is not too hard to understand that the human race in general has become prone or susceptible to the overuse of technology and lots of studies indicate towards the overal degradation of the physical and mental strength.

This can even be proved by a simple comparative example of general lifestyle of the people living in urban areas and rural areas. The people residing in urban area barely have to do the physically intensive works and livlihood that the people in rural area have to go through. In return, the people living the rustic life are both strong and can act indendently to get out of some sudden problem when it comes to that. In recent survey, the happiness index and overall health quality of the people living in rural areas of Nepal was found to be in much better condition compared to that of people living in the capital city, Kathmandu. I am sure it is similar in other part of the world as well. These days, the luxuries and conveniences in the urban areas have limited the physical activities of the people in some gym hours or jogging. In comparison, the people in rural areas and also the people in ancient time had to go through intense physical works to make a living and get on with their life.

However, we must not forget the mental aspect. It may be true that the people are generally weaker nowadays due to the luxuries and all but in term of mental strength and independence, the current generation hold their own stance. The younger people are now more conscious about their rights and can act independently in many cases. Its true that the current generation do not have to prepare themselves for a accidental fight against the Tiger or other wild animals but they sure can make a impressive decision like travelling cross-country on their own, getting married and settling in right age, etc. So, mental awareness and strength seems to be intact or even developed admist the issues of physical degradation.

Thus, i believe that the luxuries life and conveniences has influenced the physical strengh of the people, preventing them from developing into a strong individual. But, the mental independence and capability have not degraded to that extent.