"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

The author claims that the funding for the symphony can be eliminated from next year’s budget. However, to access the efficacy of the claims, some questions want answers.

To begin with, the author mentioned that the private contributions of the symphony increased by 200. But the author didn’t mention the origin portion of private contributions. For instance, if the origin portion of private contributions Is account for 10% of total contributions, then even if it’s doubled last year, the portion of private contributions is only 20%, far from fully self-supporting the symphony. Therefore, the author should clarify the origin portion of private contributions, in order to using this data as evidence.

But it is also worth considering that the attendance at the symphony’s concerts in the park series doubled can made profit, allowing the symphony to be fully self-supporting. The author failed to indicate that whether there will be an entrance fee for in-the-park series or not. Since the symphony will be played publicly, the desire for people to pay might decreased. Hence, there is no reason for us to believe that the attendance of in-the-park series can made profit. Furthermore, become a supportive evidence for eliminate the funding for the symphony.

Last but not least, the author mentioned that due to the symphony has announced an increase in ticket prices for next year, with the expectation of the ticket selling will increase, the author claims that this will be a reason for city to stop funding the symphony. However, the author didn’t notice the potential consequence of increase ticket prices, which is the attendance might drop dramatically, and result in the lowering of profit. In conclusion, this reason still needs further statement in order to be a strong reason for city to stop funding.

To sum up, the author fails to substantiate his claim that the city can stop funding the symphony, because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lead strong support to what the author maintains. To make it more convincing, he would have to demonstrate that the origin portion of private contributions, and whether the in-the-park series sales tickets or not, last, whether the increase prices of ticket will affect the attendance or not. As a result, if the argument had included the given factors discussed above, it would have been more thorough and logically acceptable.