As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has been the vital facet of the development process of human-beings. Hence, it has always been a hotly debated matter when it comes to its effects on people and their lives. In this sense, I have to iterate that I mostly disagree with the above mentioned statement since it oversimplifies the realities of life, while I agree it comes with some downsides.

Firstly, technology is so vital that it is embedded to the lives of people. It is inseparable from people’s daily routines. Everything from a to z is working with a circuit attached to a connection point, a point where actually our lives are integrated. We cannot even wake up without the help of a “technological” device. If all these are considered it can be seen that it is far from making people lazy. Let’s think about the number of cables inside a basic laptop computer. How can a lazy creature succeed in placing those thin, thread-like wires in two pieces of plastic? Apparently, people must have the logical capacity and resilient to build that and put to the service of people. Blaming technology for lethargy of people would be very unwise.

Secondly, technology has always been a matter of mystery, and people have exerted a lot of effort to be able uncover that unknown. It is not a solved issue. It did not happen overnight. The effort is so tremendous that no one can count the hours spent on to be able to create a piece of technology. While people are working hard on that matter it would be unfair to say that people are losing track of their lives. All these efforts are for the ultimate aim of living a prosperous and fruitful life that will represent the power of a living species that changed the world. For example, people are looking for the ways to establish energy producing systems that are to the dire need of people. Because energy is the source of every possible move and the more the sources the more capable of movement. And, the more people move the more they learn and the more they create. All of which for what? For the wellbeing of people and the environment surrounding them.

On the other hand, while it is true that technology is aiming a better life for people, one should not forget that there is always a problem which is also prevalent in our social lives, which is, free riding. While some people are doing their best to create something some others will always try to benefit from their efforts with no cost. No one can deny the fact that this is a burden on everyone. For example, a company like ETS, which is investing tons of money and creating an idea or object, is capable of producing very valuable books for the usage of students, but some other people who have the ability reach necessary technology, try to reproduce these books illegally and sell it for a price. This is a serious externality that should be dealt very intricately.

In conclusion, it can be resolutely stated that, technology is the biggest invention of people aiming to make the lives of people better and fruitful while having some drawbacks to be handled.