Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The writer of the memo states that residents of Benton City are going to face a low obesity rate than the national average in the coming period due to the fact that those residents have adopted a healthier lifestyle. However, the conclusion of the writing depends on unfolded assumptions which weaken the persuasiveness of the passage.

Firstly, the author assumes that recent research, offering people conformed their eating habits with the government recommendations, shows actual feelings or ideas of Benton City residents. However, taking what respondents tell during surveys at face value can be misleading. Maybe people responded in such a way that their first aim was to show Benton City as a success story in the whole nation, and, thus, gave biased answers. In addition, there is ten-year-gap between the condeucted surveys. For a survey to be successful and informative, it must be representative, viable and reasonable. Were the surveys mentioned in the memo conducted in this manner? Were the people interviewed the same? What is the age level of the respondents? Were they single or married? These are all questions that define the quality of a survey. As seen, if the above statements are, the memo looses its persuasiveness.

Secondly, the writer assumes that increase in the sales of local food products including kiran and decrease in the consumption of an unhealthy product sulia are two main indications of healthy eating habits. Taking only these two products while evaluating daily habits of a society seems to be significantly restrective, and misleading. The survey should include a list of healthy and unhealthy products so that respondents can pick the ones they consume and refrain from eating or drinking. In addition, since there is not enough information regarding eating habits of the people we cannot clearly define what caused a decline in the consumption of sulia. Maybe people gave up sulia, because its prices skyracketed because of high demand.

If these are true, then, maybe, people of Benton City is much more worse than ten years ago in the sense of their eating habit.

Thirdly, while the author iterates information about obesity level of Benton City people, he or she falls short in giving concrete numbers regarding people's actual weights. Such kind of information would be vital in determining whether there is a fall or an increase in the obesity level of the people of the region. In addition, this indicators should also be divided to age groups and sex to have a more realistic idea about the lifstyles of people. Therefore, the memo, again, is weakened significantly without the existence of such important indicators.

Overall, while the author is making a prediction regarding the future obesity level Benton City, he forgets to mention about factual information regarding the obesity level of people ten years ago and now. In addition, he or she forgets to mention other products other than kiran and sulia. Lastly, the surveys made are far from being comparable since there is no extra information is prodided. Hence, the author should consider making the memo more persuasive in the light of the information given above.