If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The world is witnessing an unprecedented transformation process which is now shaping and defining the realities of our lives. The most important aspect of this new situation is the intertwinedness of people, and, which, as a result plays an important role in relationships among people. In this sense, the conclusion made in the prompt seems to be too opportunistic and contradicts the basic dynamics of human relations, and, therefore, I strongly disagree with it.

Firstly, people's only aim should not be setting a goal, and trying to reach it no matter what. Isn't this behavior the underlying reasons of big wars in human history? What we all talk about are the greed, passion, and lust of historic figures and administrators, and the huge problems they caused while omitting the actual needs of the societies they rule. For instance, Hitler was a product an apparently functioning democracy; he loved authority and never wanted to give up. What was true for him should be right for all the people, and eventually since his compassion fell short in restricting him, his true face came out as an evil in the long run. Not only himself but also another person could stop him, tried to persuade him to show there is another way to be successful. In the end, his greed destroyed him besides the whole world. As seen, if people do not hold a sense of self restriction, one can never know how far his greed can go; therefore, people should always self check and correct their behaviors and even ideas before it is late.

Secondly, if each person tries to attain his or her goals insatiably, without thinking social boundaries, the needs of other people, this will create a chaos in the society. A successful example for this situation is a firm where everyone competes to be the manager. Everyone's aims crush and if no-one is clever enough to make room to discuss and find a more fruitful way as a result of compromise, the system will collapse and no-one will reach what he or she wishes. Let's think about the consequences of the situation where everyone is undercutting his or her colleague's position in the company. Can this company survive for a long time? Instead, everyone should consider the necessities of his or her position and try to their best to do their jobs, and leave the decision of promoting to the relevant authorities. Surely, this way, not only everyone will be happy, but also the company will prosper.

However, it is a fact that this kind of very ambitious people exist everywhere. Should everyone behave like him or her to detract her from higher positions? The answer is absolutely no. If this person is lucky enough he or she will how to behave realistically and put herself on the other people's shoes eventually, and be a better human-being. In addition, such kind of greedy people can never become fully satisfied, and, hence they are usually unhappy and fail to become happy at the end of the road. As seen, for a happier self being and a society people should have a kind of self restraining inner system to create a better and prosperous society.