The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the author makes a valid argument, one that would be true if its premises were true. However, his or her conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. In this sense, the writer makes three unsubstantiated assumptions which hinder the persuasiveness of the argument as a whole.

Firstly, the author supposes that he is representing the Central Plaza store owners, for which there is no evidence. The author only states complaints of "many"shop owners, however, he falls short explaining with what authority he is representing them. Is he a legitimate lawyer? Does he have the right to represent them? Do store owners know that he is writing this letter on behalf of them? Maybe there are only 2 owners who witnessed a fall in their sales but other sellers are happy with the general situation. Let's think that there is a sports equipment selling store in the Central Plaza, and the store is seeing the highest sales in years. Will this particular store owner agree with what is said in the letter? Possibly no! Then one can say that the claims made by the author are baseless.

Secondly, the writer assumes that decrease in the business of the stores in Central Plaza is directly linked to the activities of the skateboarders. In fact, that seems to be a harsh inference to make. Maybe a new mall has just been opened close to the plaza and it just coincided with the increasing popularity of the skateboarding in the region. The writer should focus on other aspects instead of blaming skateboarders. Has he ever walked around the city to see newly opened shopping malls? How are their businesses going? Are they also facing a decrease in sales? Maybe the economy of the city is in a recession. It should be watched closely for the future of the stores and the city as a whole. In addition, sports activities are always a good way to promote a place. Instead of claiming the skateboarders, store owners should exploit this chance. They can organize special days aiming to attract people to the venue and thus, increase sales.

Thirdly, the store owner who sent the letter to the editor assumes that recent lettering and vandalism occurrences are closely related to the skateboarding activities. This iteration is directly accuses skateboarders. Under this circumstances they have a say in this. Are they really letting this happen? Can they be blamed for vandalism? Has the writer ever talked to any of the skateboarders? Maybe the plaza lacks bitter baskets. Maybe it is because the plaza has recently let go off its security guards and there is no-one to prevent such kind of undesirable events. Maybe the skateboarders are complaining about this.

Overall, the claims made in the letter leave too many questions unanswered and lack persuasiveness because of unsubstantiated assumptions. In addition, the writer does not seem to be making a strong argument that can make the editor to believe him or her.