The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper.

"During last year’s election, only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted, whereas in the nearby affluent town of Chiswick, that number was 75 percent. In a recent survey of young adults, over 80 percent of respondents in Chiswick reported frequently using their mobile devices to access social media sites. However, in Lamont, only 60 percent of young adults who own mobile devices reported accessing their social media accounts on a regular basis. The survey also revealed that young adults in both towns who use social media at least once a day are more likely to consider themselves knowledgeable about current political and social issues, which is considered a key characteristic of those who vote. Clearly, the number of people who vote in elections is higher in Chiswick than in Lamont because more of Chiswick’s young adults actively participate in social media."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account

for the facts presented in the argument.

The memo wrongly correlates the realtion between social media participation among young adults and the percent of people voted in Lamont and Chiswick. Therefore, I believe that the author relies his or her conclusions on three unsubstantiated assumptions, which in the end, damages the reliability of the writing as a whole.

Firstly, taking what people say during surveys at face value can be misleading. In the passage, the survey results are solely based on what young people articulate about their usage of social media. First of all, are the social media perceptions of these two groups of young people the same? For example, maybe although they have a lower percentage in terms of social media, the kids in Lamont spend more time with pollitical issues in social media, while the ones in Chiswick with gossips and unrelevant topics. In this case, would it be wise to consider the youth in Lamont less political? Maybe respondents in Chiswick just tried to show themselves as confident and knowledgeable just to impress other people? In this case, does it appear to be reliable to depend on what they say? If one of these assumptions come true, as seen, the logic of the author is strongly weakened.

Secondly, the turnout of election is only related to the attendance of young people, which seems illogical, since young people generally constitute a smaller portion of voters in any place on earth. The writer should have taken other part of the society into consideration on this matter. Why didn't the writer mention about the rates of adults, for it is an important indication of the success of the voters? There is no information even about the ages of respondets; maybe are even ineligible to cast a vote. The results of the surveys can be considered as an indication for latter years, but not for an election that has been held recently. As seen, instead of dealing with only youth, the bigger part of the society should be scrutinized to be able to concieve the outcomes of the election more precisely.

Thirdly, no information is diclosed regarding the demographics of these two young groups in Lamont and Chiswick. Since it is mentioned in the first sentence of the writing, we know that Chiswick is richer than Lamont, but is this the case for the young people as well? If so, the logic of the writer seems to be questionable. For example, if the ones in Chiswick are rich and afford smartphones more easily, the logic of the memo weakens significantly. If these young adults can easily buy techological devices, it is more logical that they use their social media accounts more easily. However, this time, it is harsh to judge the ones in Lamont because of their low rate of social media attendance.

Overall, the assumptions that the writer of the memo seen in Lamont Times Newspaper leaves too many questions unanswered and thus, seems to be lacking persuasiveness.