The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of the WWAC radio station, in the memorandum, states that the station should shift to a news and talk format to reverse the decline in listener numbers. He or she has come to this conclusion due to the fact that the format is becoming more popular in their area and will attract more listeners. However, this conclusion is based on several unfounded assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the decline in the number of listeners is due to the fact that the audience does not prefer the rock music format. However, this may not be the case. It may be that the radio station plays one too many ads and that has managed to annoy their listeners enough to stop tuning in to their station. It is also possible that the listeners simply find the radio jockeys' voices intolerable and have thus, decided to boycott the radio station. If either of these statements is true, then the decline in listeners cannot be attributed to the format of the radio station, and changing it would make no difference whatsoever.

Secondly, the author assumes that a decline in local sales of recorded music implies that people are simply not interested in music anymore. The decline in sales could be because of an increase in prices of records, so much that most people cannot afford to buy them. People may have also switched to buying music online or streaming music on the Internet, which provides them access to a much larger variety of music from the comfort of their homes, without having to take the trouble to go to a record store and purchase records. If these statements hold water, then, maybe, changing formats would only lead to a further decline in listener numbers.

Finally, the author assumes that switching to a news and talk format will lead to an increase in the number of listeners. However, maybe, a rival radio station already has a thriving news and talk program that most of the population loves to listen to. These listeners might not consider switching over to WWAC radio station if they already listen to similar programs on another station and enjoy doing so. Even if they do give it a try, there is no guarantee that they will like it and continue to listen to it regularly. If this happens, then the shift to the new format would, again, not be beneficial.

In conclusion, the author's decision to switch to a different format in an attempt to reach a wider audience is based on certain assumptions, which, if proven false, would make the switch useless. To make an informed decision, the author needs to properly consider several factors: whether people have actually stopped listening because they do not like the music or whether it is something else about the radio station that irks them, whether do they know that their audience will actually tune in if they switch formats, and whether they know their audience well enough to determine what they like or are they just making an assumption based on general trends. Unless these questions are properly examined, and proper evidence is provided to substantiate the assumptions, a decision cannot be made.