The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper.

"During last year's election, only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted, whereas in the nearby affluent town of Chiswick, that number was 75 percent. In a recent survey of young adults, over 80 percent of respondents in Chiswick reported frequently using their mobile devices to access social media sites. However, in Lamont, only 60 percent of young adults who own mobile devices reported accessing their social media accounts on a regular basis. The survey also revealed that young adults in both towns who use social media at least once a day are more likely to consider themselves knowledgeable about current political and social issues, which is considered a key characteristic of those who vote. Clearly, the number of people who vote in elections is higher in Chiswick than in Lamont because more of Chiswick's young adults actively participate in social media."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the editorial, the author concludes more people vote in Chiswick than in Lamont because of the former's considerable social media use among its youth. The author comes to this conclusion based on several statistics and a recent survey conducted in both towns. While the author's assertion could prove true, there are three alternative explanations that should be considered.

First of all, one explanation for the higher voting share in Chiswick is the possibility that this city has more people who are eligible to vote. Perhaps a majority of the residents in Lamont have not yet reached the voting age of 18, meaning that, even if they wanted to, they could not participate in the election. In addition, it is possible that many of the residents in Lamont have been disqualified from voting because they have committed a crime or they were never eligible because they are not citizens but rather immigrants. If either scenario above is true, then the author's contention is significantly weakenend.

Another possibility that would hinder the persusasiveness of the argument is the survey being conducted in a non-scientific manner. Perhaps the citizens of Lamont seem like their social media use is high because the survey was conducted outside of a technology expo, leading to impression that most people in the town actually use social media to a significant degree. Another scenario that might be true is that the survey contained a small sample size that is not represntative of the citizens of Chiswick as a whole. If it is true that the survey was performed in a non-empirical manner, then the author's conclusion does not hold water.

Finally, an explanation that would decrease the credibility of the argument is that people's consideration of their own knowledge is usually overestimated. The citizens of Chiswick who responded to the survey indicated that they were knowledgeable about current issues, but perhaps this is not a correct assessment of the information they possess about what is happening in the world. Maybe they feel as if they have knowledge of current events, but, in reality, their knowledge is superficial and not fleshed out. If that proves to be the case, then the editorial's driving argument is not overly compelling.

To conclude, although the central claim of the editorial might hold water, indicating there is a connection between social media and voting, the author needs to consider the above three alternate explanations if he hopes to bolster its persuasiveness. The author should provide evidence regarding the number of people eligible to vote in both towns as well as the reliability of the

survey.