Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

In this argument, the author claims that over the past year, there has been decrease in the late night television viewers for the channel due to increased time for national news and less time to weather and local news. He has citied a lot of evidence in his support. In addition to this, the author has mention about the decrease in number of advertisers during the broadcast of this channel at late night. Though the underlying reason sounds good and reasonable, because of lack of evidences, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

First and foremost, the author has mention about the late night news, which implies late night viewers. The author has assumed that the decrease in these number of late night viewers is due to the increase in time devoted to national news and decrease the time devoted to local news and weather updates. There might be possibility that some other station or new station is showing better programs on television. In fact, there might be chance that the audience prefer the programs shown on different station. In addition, this new station might be providing regular updates on weather and local news, if the assumption of author is correct regarding the time devotion to news and weather.

Secondly, the argument mentions about the advertiser that the contracts are being canceled for the late-night news program. The reason behind this cancellation may be due to better offers to these advertiser from other television stations. There might be possibility that the viewers are no longer interested in the same advertisement and hence, the advertiser canceled the contracts.

Finally, the author suggest the method for increasing the late-night news viewers by devoting more time to weather and local news and less time to national news, which is completely absurd because the author is suggesting this without any reliable analysis on the data.

In conclusion, the argument lacks thorough analysis and statistical data. The author should have further investigated about the problem behind this decrease in late night viewers by taking survey from these viewers and analysing it to further elucidate his argument.