The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memo, the director of student housing of Buckingham College concludes that due to increase in student enrollment at Buckingham College the Buckingham College should build new dormitories for the prospective students. The author come to this contention based on the current trends of increasing enrollment, increasing pricing of housing in town and hoping that the newly built dormitories will attract for students in coming years. While this might be true, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence in order to bolster the assertion’s credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the current trends is reliable and are accurate enough over 50 years. However, this might not be valid. For instance, it might be possible that the current increase in enrollment is due to this being only college in the town. But it might be the case that new college is built in the town which can lead to decrease in the enrollment of new students in Buckingham College. In addition, this increase in current trend might be due to other colleges decreased the enrolment due to shortage of available seats in the college. If the aforementioned cases turn out to be true, then the author’s evaluation is considerably hampered.

Secondly, the author assumes that the average for an apartment will be rising even further in years to come. The director predicted this on the basis of recent increase in price of housing in the town. However, this might not hold water. For example, it might be possible that the recent increase in price is due to recent increase in jobs in the town and thus, over years the number of available jobs might decrease leading to decrease in pricing of housing. In addition, it is possible that the students can afford this high pricing of housing. If either of this scenario holds true, then the author’s contention will be weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that the new dormitories will more likely attract new prospective students to the Buckingham College. Perhaps the prospective students prefer to live outside the College irrespective of price of housing in the town. In addition, almost all students have priority in terms of College academics, sports, and cultures. They may not care about whether the dormitories are new or old. Thus, if that proves to be the case, then author’s argument is not overly compelling.

To conclude, the author maybe correct about predicting the number of students enrolling in future based on current trends and building new dormitories to attract the students. However, as it stands now, the prediction rests on the above three assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase its persuasiveness of his conclusion, he needs to answer the three questions above.