The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In an application for small-business loan, the author concludes that jazz music is extremely popular in Monroe and hence, the proposed C-Note jazz music club would be a highly profitable business. While this might prove true, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence in order to bolster the assertion’s credibility.

First of all, the author mentions that the new jazz music club will be as successful as the nearest jazz music club at 65 miles currently. However, this might not be a case. Perhaps maintaining the quality of C-Note club same as the current nearest club is difficult. In addition, it might be case that the citizens of Monroe receives memberships and discounted price at the 65 mile club and hence, people enjoys going to this club. If the aforementioned cases turn out to be true, then the author’s evaluation is considerably hampered.

Moreover, the author assumes that jazz music is popular because of last year’s success of annual jazz festive, highly rated jazz radio program and several well-known jazz musicians living in Monroe. However, this might not be true. For example, the popular jazz musicians may have contracts with the jazz clubs, so it might not be possible to musicians to join the proposed C-Note club. Additionally, it is possible that the major attendees of the annual jazz music festival were immigrants and very small percent of Monroe’s citizen attended this event last summer. If either of these scenarios hold true, then the author’s contention will be weakened.

Finally, the author presumes that the nationwide study was conducted in a scientific manner. Perhaps the nationwide study is conducted in affluent areas where the jazz music clubs might be costly. Also, the study conducted on national scale may not be valid for Monroe as the cost of clubs can be different at different places. As a result, if either of these cases hold true then the author’s assumption does not hold water.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in predicting that new club will be a highly profitable business in Monroe. However, as it stands now, the prediction rests on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he needs to answer the three questions above.