People learn things better from those at their own level—such as fellow students or co-workers—than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Undoubtedly, it is fact that teachers are the ideal people from whom we can learn things much better as compared to others. However, I agree with the statement that we can learn better from our fellow friends, students or co-workers because of following three reasons.

First of all, as our friends or co-workers are at same stage, they all are also going through some phase as us. Thus, they might know an effective technique by which they learn things. For example, if I am facing difficulty in solving physics problems then I can easily contact my friends to help as they might know a way to solve these problems. From this, in turn friends can also learn new things and they could also improve.

Secondly, the fellow students or co-workers are of almost same age and it is more likely that they have same thinking or thought process as ours. For instance, if we are working on some project and we are unable to make any progress, then co-workers could provide some idea in the way we are familiar with.

Finally, higher level people such as teachers might not be able to always help as they may not know what exactly we are going through. In addition, the teachers are already burdened with doubts from other students and they may not have enough time such that they can explain in a way we can digest. For instance, consider a class of 100 students, where a professor is teaching advanced mathematics. Now, many students might ask doubts and the professor may not answer in a way we can understand, whereas if you ask our friends sitting next to us, then they might be able to explain in proper way.

In conclusion, people learn more and better from friends than from teachers, who are at a higher-level due to the above three reasons.