The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, the manager concludes that the late-night news programs should devote more time to weather and local news in order to attract more viewers and thus, avoid losing any further advertising revenues. However, the author's contention might ultimately prove valid, as it stands now, the argument rests on three unwarranted assumptions that significantly hinder its credibility.

First of all, the manager of television station presumes that the "most of the complaints" received concerning the station's coverage of local and weather news is significant. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps it is possible that only few complaints are received in total, say 5 and out of these 5 complaints only 3 are concerned with the station's converge. In addition, it might be true that number of people watching late-night news are only small percent of local population.

Secondly, the author assumes that the major revenue of the television station is generated through the advertisements from local businesses. However, this might not be true. Perhaps the advertisements from outside business companies might have increased. Additionally, the local businesses had advertised enough that people are getting bore

Finally, the author assumes that if the channel devotes more time to weather and local news then more viewers will be attracted. However, this might not be a valid assumption. For instance, it is possible that the other television station is showing the weather and local news at late night and thus, majority of local citizens are already used to watched this particular station. Moreover, it is could be possible that since the last year the local citizens are more concerned with their eye problems resulting from watching television for longer and thus, reduced watching television. This might have increased the demand of local newspapers and hence, more people are shifting from television to the newspaper.

To conclude, although the central claim of manager might hold water, indicating that the weather and local news could attract more viewers, but the author needs to consider the above three assumptions if he hope to bolster its persuasiveness.