The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In an article, Dr. Karp concludes that the study performed by Dr. Field, 20 years ago, to know whether the children on the island of Tertia are being reared by whole village or only by their parents, is invalid. The author comes to this contention based on his interviews with children on the island and came to a conclusion that the interview-centered method used by him and his team is much more accurate than the observation-centered method used by Dr. Field. While this might be true, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence in order to bolster its credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the interviews with some children is representative of all children living in the island of Tertia. However, this might not be the case. For instance, it might of possible that all few children were interviewed by Dr. karp and a team. In addition, it might be possible that children of only specific region or village on the island of Tertia were interviewed, who were spending more time talking to their biological parents than the other adults residing on the island.

Secondly, the author assumes that the conclusion from Dr. Field must be valid even after a period of 20 years of his observation and study. However, this might not be valid. Perhaps 20 years time is a lot and many things can change during this period – even a few generations had passed. Thus, it is possible that at the time of Dr. Field, children were reared by entire village and now, during the time of Dr. Karp, they are living and talking more with their biological parents. This may had occured due to conflicts between the people residing on the island on the issue of children being reared by whole village.

Finally, the author assumes that the interview-centered method conducted by graduate students team and Dr, Karp is more reliable than the observation-centered method used by Dr. Field. However, this might not hold water. Perhaps children may have lied during the interview process due to the fear and anxiety from interviewers. Additionally, observation-centered method is the best way to study as the children don’t know that someone is watching them and thus, they behave in normal way with any fear.

To conclude, the method used by the author might be better and more accurate than the method used by Dr. Field to know about the children, whether they are being reared by an entire village or only by their biological parents. However, the author of an article needs to consider the above three assumptions if he hope to bolster its persuasiveness.