A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is the primary right of every child in any country and to treat each student equally, the curriculum across each school must be kept same. The prompt attempts to address this claim by arguing that all countries should have same education syllabus in the schools and high-schools. I mostly agree with this position that all students must be at same level by studying the same curriculum. However, I do concede that implementing this policy across whole nation is difficult and arduous.

To begin, the policy of “same” curriculum will help in maintaining uniformity across the nation. In addition, implementing it among all schools will help structuring the curriculum and material that student studies. For example, due to current disparate curriculums, in almost every city student study different things and refer to different references. As a result, the students might find it ambiguous on deciding the references and texts. Additionally, through this policy, every child will receive same education regardless of any religion, caste, race, etc. Furthermore, this policy makes it easier for students to discuss about any subject, studying from any school across the nation. Moreover, all students will be at similar stage after completion of elementary education and each one will be ready for any field of education in college. For instance, the CBSE board in India have same curriculum across whole country and that too in almost all regional languages. Thus, it is beneficial to have same syllabus, at-least at elementary level of education.

Furthermore, having same curriculum policy helps transfer students from different states or cities. For instance, consider the transfer of student’s family from Mumbai to Delhi and if the topics in syllabus are similar then it would be much easier for student to grasp the concepts at different school. In addition, this don’t applies to students only, the same applies for teachers too. Instead of student, if teacher transfers then again it is simpler to teach the same topics. However, if this is not the case, then teacher would need to give much time while referring to the different material. Thus, the policy helps prevent the loss of invaluable education by maintaining same structure.

Admittedly, it is irrefutable that maintaining standard curriculum is extremely difficult. To change the policy which have been considered apt, is really strenuous. For instance, consider the case with local boards – state boards. Many parents find it appropriate that their student should study in local language - local board - which helps maintain the culture. As a result, a large number of people will hinder this policy from being implemented.

To conclude, I argue that same education, same curriculum policy should be implement for the two reasons outlined above. But I do admit that it is highly unlikely a simpler job. It could take decades on being consider becoming.