Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In my school days, variety of subjects were covered including art, literature, math and science. However, the importance given to math and science was more than art and literature. I believe that it is more important to study math and science, hence I disagree with the statement.

First and foremost, the application of math and science is in all fields. Furthermore, science is itself a vast field which includes physics, chemistry and biology. All inventions and discoveries are possible only through science and math. Math is used by everybody in day-to-day life without even being noticed. For instance, it is used by shopkeepers to earn profits by selling the items to consumers, it is used by businessmen to create models, etc. However art and literature are not used this often in mundane way.

Secondly, basic math and science is known to people who has not even graduated from high school. Whereas art and literature is known to very few students even after being graduated. After all, students have to learn these without any application contrary to learning math and science with experiments. Schools conduct experiments so that students can understand the concept of math and science clearly. Moreover, through these practical they will find that they are learning something worthwhile which will be used in future. However, art and literature has no practical aspect associated with them.

Lastly, the technology that we are using today is the gift from math and science. All gadgets like Laptops, cell phones, television, etc that we are using very second are result of decades of research in math and science. Even the investments made across globe for research in math and science are very large as compared to art and literature.

In conclusion, I believe that art and literature is not more important than math and science due to applications of math and science at all scales, majority of people deal with math and science in their day-to-day life and the growth of technology worldwide.