The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memo, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company concludes that the company should allocate more share of next year budget in order to reach it to more people through advertisments. He come to this contention based on the report from marketing department and the increase in the percentage of positive reviews about the content of movies. While this might be valid, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence in order to bolster the assertion's credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the report from the marketing department is reliable and representative of all people who are enthusiastic in watching the movies. However, this might not be true. For example, is might of possible that the report is representative of few cities or region, as the marketing company may take reviews from people of only a few big cities. In addition, it might also be possible that the marketing department has bribed by other production companies to reduce the count about number of people attended Super Screen produced movies. If the aforementioned cases turn out to be true then the author's evaluation is considerably hampered.

Secondly, the author assumes that the increase in percentage of positive reviews is significant. However, this might not be the case. For instance, it might be possible that only a few people are watching Super Screen produced movies. Thus, even if the percentage increase in number of viewer is high, still overall the number of viewers are less. In addition, it is also possible that these positive reviews came from because of success of only one movie, while other movies are rated bad. If either of these scenario hold true, then the author's contention will be weakend.

Finally, the author assumes that the people are less aware of availability of good quality movies. However, this might not hold water. Perhaps it is possible that people are much aware of all the released movies and they don't like the star cast of movies made by Super Screen production and hence they don't watch. In addition, is may be true that the Super Screen production campany releases movies with almost same content as the other production companies are releasing, that is they are copying content from other production house. If that proves to be the case, then author’s argument is not overly compelling.

To conclude, the director may be correct about predicting the problems that Super Screen production company is going through and therefore allocating more funds in advertising movies. However, as it stands now, the prediction rests on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he needs to answer the three question above.