As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Advancement in technology have made life easier, have made possible for us to connect to people from anywhere in the world, have made human to reach the moon, etc. However, the prompt attempts to argue that relying on technology is the degrading the way human thinks. Nevertheless, I mostly disagree with this claim that technology is deteriorating people’s thinking. Instead, it is improving the quality of human life. However, I do concede to some extent that innovation is debasing the human mind’s ability to think.

To begin, due to new technology and innovations the way of human living have significantly changed and improved. Now, human have developed systems that require minimal effort from human. For example, consider the case of cell phones, today it is possible to connect with people from any part of the world and even from the space. In addition, consider the case of the space race. Today, every country is involved in the race to conquer the space as more and more advancements in technology is coming. For instance, in 1970s it was difficult to launch even a single satellite to the space, whereas, now it is possible to launch multiple satellite in a single launch. Thus, it is seen that it is only due to advancement in technology we are improving our knowledge and thinking day by day.

Furthermore, technology have enhanced the way of problem solving. Day by day it is becoming easier to solve the same problem. Additionally, due to enhancement in technology, people can do the same amount of work in significantly less time. This helps in making people to rely more on the current technology and it also helps in thinking even further and hence, more enhancement in technology. For instance, today’s computers are able to solve the problem in much simpler way then it used be to solved decades ago with less advanced computer. In addition, consider the development of automobile industry. Today, technology have been possible to make driverless vehicles. Thus, the above examples implies that the way – and the quality – of human thinking is improving with each generations and it will be far more advanced after few generations.

Admittedly, there is a negative side of relying more and more on technology. For instance, spending longer hours on social media has affected majority of human minds all around the world. In addition, due to advancement of internet, it has become difficult for people – especially, students – to not become addicted to it. Thus, it solely depends on the people on how to use technology appropriately.

To conclude, I argue that until we are using technology appropriately it is always beneficial. It is a field on which we are relying more and more to live a better life. But I do that using technology in less appropriate way can badly affect the human thinking process.