The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper quot During last year s election only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted whereas inthe nearby affluent town of Chiswick that number was 75 percent In a recent survey ofyoung ad

In the argument, the author attributes the higher number of people who vote in Chiswick to more young adults participate in social media. However, the author should consider some alternative explanations to challenge the proposed explanations. Otherwise, the argument and the conclusion claim might be untenable.

To begin with, in the argument, the proposed explanation is that the relatively low social media accessing level results in a lower proportion of votes among young people. Nevertheless, alternative explanations should challenge this interpretation. It is possible that young people in Lamont are more stressed than those in Chiswick in daily life. They may spend most of their time working and simply do not have enough spare time to access social media, which can learn about knowledge of the current political situation and social issues, and to vote. As a result, it is a heavy workload instead of social media access playing as a key role in this phenomenon. Under such a scenario, these alternative interpretations exist to explain the facts in the argument could be readily debunked.

Furthermore, despite young people are indeed inactive in elections, other people could be the majority. To be more specific, probably, in Chiswick, most of the population are young adults, and they are enthusiastic in voting. So the voting percentage is quite high. As for Lamont, young people could be highly motivated in voting as well. But due to the different components of the population, the number of people who voted remain low. This may because the majority of Lamont is elder people, who are indifferent to politics, and children, who even do not have a legal right to vote. As a result, low participation in voting could simply nothing to do with young adults. In this case, the alternative explanation has qualified the argument.

Although the proposed explanations might justify the conclusion, the author should check some alternative explanations to challenge the proposed explanations, More considerations might be recommended to bolster the argument and the conclusion.