The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie our most populardoll 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the

In this argument, the author proposes that introducing Elkie-Advanced Doll, which uses higher quality materials and consequently more durable, will help Primo Doll Manufacturing exceed Optima in profit this year. However, some questions should be addressed before the author proves the validity of the argument.

To begin with, the author mentions 80% of parents said they are more like to recommend a durable doll to their friends. However, some questions should be addressed to substantiate this argument. Is the survey reliable? If the research samples are concentrate within a small group of parents, say working in the same company and receiving a similar salary, they may consider more on the economy. But with the increase in income, more and more families may put appearance and safety in the first place, because health is critical to their children. Green material used in the manufacturing of dolls could be a significant criterion. On top of that, are their friends would like to buy recommended durable dolls? Although they recommend the doll to their friends, their friends who have not used the doll but can see the appearance immediately may emphasize more on appearance instead of the durability to decide to buy to or not. Therefore, answering the aforementioned questions might more defensibly reinforce the conclusion and the whole argument.

Furthermore, even if parents become more likely to buy these dolls, due to their durability, is the overall profit going to increase? As the doll will not quickly wear out with use, parents will buy less doll, cause the doll can be used longer than before. As a result, the sales of dolls could remain stable in total, or even decline. In addition, the cost of producing each doll will increase, since it is manufactured using higher quality materials. With the same price, they become less profitable. So it is possible that the profit of the manufactory will not increase. Hence, answering the question might substantiate the conclusion and the argument.

In conclusion, although the conclusion that introducing Elkie-Advanced Doll benefits to Primo to outstrip Optima is comprehensible, some questions should be addressed before the author validates the argument. Had the author delivered more answers to the questions, the conclusion and the argument might be more defensible.