The following editorial appeared in the Lamont Times newspaper.

"During last year’s election, only 35 percent of people living in Lamont voted, whereas in

the nearby affluent town of Chiswick, that number was 75 percent. In a recent survey of

young adults, over 80 percent of respondents in Chiswick reported frequently using their

mobile devices to access social media sites. However, in Lamont, only 60 percent of

young adults who own mobile devices reported accessing their social media accounts on a

regular basis. The survey also revealed that young adults in both towns who use social

media at least once a day are more likely to consider themselves knowledgeable about

current political and social issues, which is considered a key characteristic of those who

vote. Clearly, the number of people who vote in elections is higher in Chiswick than in

Lamont because more of Chiswick’s young adults actively participate in social media."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account

for the facts presented in the argument.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic solution from a disjointed argument that the higher percentage of voters in the town of Chiswick that Lamont can be attributed to the fact that more young adults in former, participate actively in social media. In support of this he mentions a survey that revealed corroborating results. Also he mentions that the survey showed that young people who use social media atleast once a day are more likely to consider themselves having knowledge about various political issues, which is a important characteristic of the people who vote. The argument seems plausible at the first glance, but a deeper analysis reveals some logical fallacies.

To begin with, a major lacuna in the argument is that, it has been assumed that the findings of a single survey are enough to come the mentioned conclusion. There is no mention abou the reliability or the contents of the survey. Also there is no information provided regarding the number of people surveyed in both the towns. It is possible that only a few people were surveyed from either one or both the towns. Thus, the results of the survey can be generalized to the entire town. Also, the survey may have been conducted casually and people may have not answered it seriously. Thus if these points are true, then the argument by the author will be significantly weakened.

Secondly, the writer has unfairly assumed that the populations and the two towns are comparable. It maybe possible that the town of Lamont has a greater number of children and old people. Children are not eligible to vote and the old people maybe too weak or sick to go to the voting stations to cast their votes. As oppoded to this the town of Chiswick may have more young people who are enthusiastic and fit and thus have cast their vote. This may have nothing to do with their social media usage. If this is true then the author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, it has been assumed that considering oneself knowledgeable about the political and social issues is an important component for one to vote. This may not be true. There has been no evidence to back up this piece of argument mentioned. It maybe possible that the author has come accross this fact on the internet from an apocryphal resource which may not be authentic. Considering oneself oneself informed regarding the current issues may have nothing to do with the voting. If this true then again the author's argument weakened.

Thus the writer has based his argument on some wishy washy observations. Many of these might not be. There are a variety of explanations to explain the facts that he states insupport of his argument. Unless he bolsters his findings with significant evidence and proofs his argument that the lower voting rate in the town of Lamont is due to the fact that the social media usage in this town is lower, is quite tenuous.