Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world smartphones have become an indispensable part of almost every person's life. However like every coin that has two sides; smartphones have affected the society in a both positive and negative manner. However I do not agree with the fact that the cons of the smartphones outweigh their benefits. This is due to the tremendous benefits they have in our personal, social and professional lives.

Smartphones have indeed brought the world closer. People who are thousands of miles away from each other are not only able to talk to one another but also see each other via video calls all due to smartphones. For example an old person whose children and grandchildren live in a different country is able to see them and converse with them everyday only with the help of a smart phone in absence of these smartphones, it would have been very hard for him to write letters to them and then wait for days until they reach the other nation. Thus smartphones have definitely proven to be boon and reduced the communication gap.

Smartphones have been of much help to people at individual level as well. For instance, a youngster who has started living alone and does not know how to cook can easily surf online for various recipes. He could also call or text his family and friends asking for their help. Smartphones can also be of assistance to him in other routine activities like fixing electric appliances, ordering for various commodities online and so on. Thus smartphones have without a doubt been of help to individuals to get through their day to day activities.

In one's professional life as well smartphones have used their magic and made it easier. For example various money transactions, business deals, international meetings can be done with their help. If a person is sick and is unable to physically report to work, he can do all his job over his phone staying at home. Thus work life has been positively impacted due to smartphones.

Thus, due to various benefits that smart phones have in all walks of life, I am of the strong opinion that smartphones have in no way caused greater harm than good to the society.