Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

After 36 years of constant development, contemporary smartphones encounter striking innovations every quarter. However, along with such technological advancements, many people and media have started to point out their downsides. Regardless of the drawbacks, I believe that smartphones have done more good than harm to our society for two reasons.

First, smartphones have a myriad of applications that provide convenience in everyday life. From calculators to food delivery apps, everything is possible with a smartphone nowadays. For instance, my mom always used to go to the bank when she had to send someone money. However, after the development of banking apps, she does not have to go to the bank anymore. People like my mom have greatly benefited from the development of smartphones. Moreover, it was not even thinkable that one's location could be tracked in real-life in the past. However, this has become possible due to smartphones. Such features are useful, especially to parents, as it is easy to lose their children in a crowded area. The GPS function allows parents to know where their children are, making it easier to find them when they are lost. In this way, smartphones are beneficial and provide convenience to us in different parts of life.

Second, smartphones are significantly helpful in cases of emergency. They are able to aid people that are in danger. For example, I once went to a mountain on a trekking trip with my friends. However, we lost our way in the middle of the mountain. We had no way how to find our way back down. Fortunately, we were able to use our smartphones to ask for help. We called the police, and they did an extensive search to find us. As a result, we were able to get rescued within a few hours. Moreover, smartphones can also help people to evacuate during a disaster. For example, contemporary smartphones have automatic messaging services provided by telecommunication companies that notify people of any natural disaster. This technology comes in great aid to fast evacuation processes and routines, saving millions of lives.

Because of various features of smartphones that support everyday life and save people in danger, smartphones do more good than harm. Although some drawbacks may exist, people have to know that the advantages of smartphones outweigh the disadvantages.