Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take

history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your

answer

I do not agree with the statement that history courses should be mandatory for all university students no matter what their field of study is because students in health care disciplines do not have time to take courses that are not related to their field. Also, for some students it can be difficult to understand concepts of courses that are not related to their field of study.

University students have a busy schedule especially students in a health care field. They not only have theoretical exams but they also have clinical exams and to prepare for their clinical exams, they spend most of their time in different clinics. In addition to morning clinical rotation in different departments, they also have rotation in evening and weekend clinics. After doing their clinics, they do not have enough time for themselves to relax or to hang out with their friends or family members. According to some recent research, healthcare discipline is one of the most stressful careers and the burn-out rate is higher in health care professionals and is mainly due to imbalance between their student and personal lives. Although history courses can give some extra knowledge to university students, they can increase the stress level of medical or dental school students. Therefore, history courses should not be mandatory for all university students.

University students can have a hard time understanding the concepts of courses that are not related to their field. Consequently, they will waste a lot of their study time in clarifying those new and difficult ideas. Since they do not have a background knowledge of history courses, they may become frustrated and may not be able to perform which can badly affect their overall GPA. For instance, in some developing countries like Pakistan, university students are required to take mandatory courses including history, geography and Islamic studies in their first university year and many students there especially international students have a difficult time in understanding those courses. Despite their hard work and struggle, most of them are not able to understand those courses. As a result, they not only drop-out from university but they also do not stay in Pakistan and go back to their own countries. Although some students can manage the challenge of learning new courses, others cannot handle the stress related to new courses. So, universities should be flexible and should not force students to take particular courses.