Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Our modern world is certainly changing quickly and recent improvements in technology have greatly contributed to our working lives. I disagree with the statement because I think that people nowadays have more opportunities to be happy at work due to improved communication and better career opportunities.

The way that we communicate at work has changed enormously in just a short time and has brought many positive changes to our working lives. A few years ago we had to rely on phone calls, emails and written letters to collaborate with colleagues in different locations. This was frustrating as communication was slower. Nowadays we have many ways to get in touch with colleagues in other places. We can make video calls, use different apps and even work on documents together in real time.

This enhances our relationships with our colleagues, allows us to work more efficiently and also gives us choice about our work location. All these things improve our satisfaction and therefore happiness at work. Although the choice of different communication methods can be overwhelming, the reality is that we do have choice. We can choose which technological changes to take advantage of in a way that

wasn’t possible in the past. So we can use the way that technology is rapidly changing to improve our working lives.

Another effect of the world changing quickly has been felt in our career choices. In the past, it was normal to choose a career for your entire working life. This put a lot of pressure on young people to choose the correct career and to make sure they had the required educational qualifications. I remember talking to older friends who regretted career choices they had made while students but felt they couldn’t do anything to change them. Today, it’s much easier to move jobs frequently and even switch careers. As technology rapidly changes, jobs that didn’t exist a few years ago are created. People who are willing to be flexible can take advantage of these opportunities. They can build on their experience from previous jobs and find something they like to do. If they make the wrong choice, they can move on again. This frequent movement is not seen as a disadvantage in many professions. It’s seen as a way for people to acquire valuable experience and then use that knowledge in their next opportunity. So adapting to these changes allows people to be happier in their working lives and is an advantage for their employers as well.