Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Smartphones are devices that are small yet accessible in every aspect, such as entertainment, news, communication, and social media. Due to their wide range of uses, no one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of smartphones. Considering all factors, if I were forced to choose, I would be on the side of good. My view on the topic is firm for a number of reasons, which I will develop in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, the majority of the human population indeed carries smartphones in their pants or bags, and I affirm that there is a reason behind it, drawing on my personal experience. Unlike recent generations, I received my first phone in middle school, and the country in which I lived was dangerous as my parents were busy with work. To ensure my safety, they downloaded an app called Life360 that tracks my location and reports if I am in a place not desirable at a specific time. Through platforms, individuals can live their days with more assurance and safety.

On top of that, phones allow users to meet and connect through text, mail, voice, and video calls. My own experience is a compelling illustration of this statement. After my sister graduated and moved to South Korea to further her academic career, I could not talk to her as much as I did when we were in person. However, I can continue to spend time with her even if we are not physically together due to my phone. Moreover, with the eight-hour time difference, text messages make it easier to continue a conversation. Thus, smartphones allow society to connect even in adverse circumstances.

Last but not least, it contains and sends out important information. In contrast to the past, humans no longer have to utilize textbooks to obtain information. Currently, with our advanced technology and science, citizens can rapidly acquire and spread scientifically proven and opinion-based articles and other kinds of writing. Due to the wide use of smartphones, humans can go online to further debate particular topics, causing them to do further research, learn new subjects, and be aware of current news. Hence, smartphones allow people to obtain and spread important information.

Although there are disadvantages to smartphones, I truly believe that their advantages outweigh as mentioned in above reasons, which include increased safety and easy access to communication.