Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether high-tech mobile phones' negative outcomes outweigh their benefits or not. I do not agree with the given statement. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the next paragraphs.

To begin with, there is no doubt that smartphones allow people to access new information and knowledge instantly. As long as there is a strong internet connection on the phone, it is extremely easy to reach and learn, new things from unlimited resources. For example, advanced navigation systems of smartphones allow people to find out the exact location of where they would like to go just in one second. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was backpacking in Europe, last summer, I could not find my hostel location in Amsterdam, even though I had a map of the city. After a couple of hours of searching, finally, I was lucky enough to find a free WiFi, therefore I used my smartphone's map application and abruptly I did not only understand which ways I had to take but also I learned the number of the specific bus that I had to take. Thanks to my phone's map application, I solved a huge problem. If I would not have owned a smartphone, I could not have downloaded a map application and therefore, I might have spent many more hours finding the destination of the hostel.

Secondly, I think within smartphones it is highly easy to connect with people. There are so many different applications and social networks where people can contact with their loved ones without putting extra effort. Applications like Whatsapp, Telegram, Skype are not only allowing people to receive written information from each other, but also provide them with interactive ways of communication such as video calls, sending videos, and voice messages. For instance, I have a Whatsapp group where all of my family members, included the extended family, are in that group. Even though many of them live in other cities, even other countries and continents it is extremely convenient to reach them via that particular Whatsapp group. My relatives sometimes send pictures of them, sometimes small video records, and voice messages. As a result, the technology provided by high-tech mobile phones makes this communication possible. Moreover, I even cannot imagine staying in touch like nowadays, in times where there were no smartphones.

To conclude, even though there are so many arguments that say smartphones do more harm than good I do not believe this. I think overall, the benefits of using smartphones outweigh its negative outcomes. This is because smartphones allow people to access much information instantly and they help people to stay in touch.