Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A person should never make an important decision alone.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Important decisions are the most crucial ones to make it since these decisions have the power of changing the whole direction of where our lives are heading, they can create big turning points or they can result with huge disappointments. In any case, I do not agree with the given statement. I believe that a person should make an important decision by herself/himself. I will explore my reasons in this essay.

First of all, no one, even the closest family members and best friends cannot know our own genuine intention on regards to one specific topic. Since every individual is extremely unique, calling a vital decision on something would only need to include that person itself. My very own experience on this is a compelling example: When I graduated from my university, I came across with an opportunity of an abroad traineeship in the Netherlands for six months. When I first discussed this new development with my family, they were not on the favouring of the idea of living all alone in another country for that much time. They tried to change my mind about going there, moreover even there were some inside family arguments involved. Although the situation became very unpleasant, I did not listen to them, and I did that internship. When I look back now, I am so glad that I accepted the offer since the experience itself has brought many new opportunities into my life. If I would have listened to my parents, I could not have these new opportunities along with my current master’s degree which is again in the Netherlands that I applied during the time I was doing my internship.

Secondly, involving the others to the decision process when trying to decide on important circumstances can lead a confusion. This is because having more people in the decision process means more ideas and therefore the more confusion. Since people tend to think situation regards their own life and their own desires, they can mislead the others in terms of making a crucial decision. For instance, one of my close friends, she is always depending on the other’s ideas when it comes to making a decision. She has been wanted to get a tattoo for a long time, but she did not sure, what kind of tattoo she would like to have. One of her brothers is highly effective in my friend’s decisions in every aspect of her life. That brother suggested her to get a fox tattoo on her arm, she finally got that tattoo. But after a couple of years, she realized that it was definitely not what she was wanted, following that she has started a removing session which will last for months and not only cost her great amount of money but also pain. If she could make her decision alone, I am pretty sure that she would not have to try to get rid of from the tattoo.

To conclude, I do not agree with the given statement because people need to make their own decision alone since everyone is unique and no one knows better than individual itself and also involving the other’s ideas to the decision process may result with huge regrets.