Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion on the ubiquity of advertisements, particularly the ones from television screens. In my opinion, commercials should be restricted by age groups and the ones target the younger kids of age between 2 to 5 should be banned. I will explore my two reasons in this essay.

To begin with, child development mainly happens in the early age stages. Therefore, it is extremely important to surround these young kids by educated factors. As these young children are just started to see and recognize colors and noises, what kind of content these babies consume will affect their personality development. For this very reason, it is not beneficial for the young kids to consume advertisements. For instance, when my brother was 4 years old, my parents were not watching the TV when he was awake and in the same room with us. When I asked my mother, what is the reason, she told me that it is not okay for him to be exposed by all those colors and constant movements at this very early stage of his life. After then I’ve learnt during my social psychology class that my mother was right. Therefore, small kids should not watch television particularly the advertisements.

Additionally, since the main aim of the advertisement industry is selling a specific product and finding new consumers and that mentioned age group is neither can purchase anything nor demand from their parents it is a waste of money for the industry to create and commercial. Even though products used by babies such as baby diapers should not targeting to attract babies due to the fact that those products are necessities. Instead, they could aim to reach parents by including slogans and visuals that speak to mothers and fathers. For example, in my home country the television surveillance community has introduced new age regulations to watch particular programs, this new development also includes advertisements by limiting audience age groups.

To conclude, commercial that are specifically directed young children in the ages between 2 and 5 should be banned. This is because watching commercials is not good for child development and these advertisements are generally waste of money since those babies have not developed the ability to purchase or demand anything that they see on the screens.