Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps understand the present.

Some believe the past has slightly small amount or even zero to illuminate the present, whereas others say it is vital to know history to be able to understand the current times. Throughout this essay I will discuss both side and give my opinion on the latter view.

Supporters of the former opinion argues that events that happened in the past are irrelevant with today’s developments and events. This is because, as the essential topics of the globe are constantly changing regards to the industrial developments and previously technological breakthroughs, looking answers through the old times would not highlight today. Take an example of two men, one from the stone age and the other one from the millennium decade. The daily struggles of these two individuals are not similar, while one is trying new ways to hunt a deer, the other is facing with the modern city life problems such as air pollution.

However, examining the past times provide human beings with an advance knowledge on varied issues where human emotions and the basic necesstiy of humanity involved. The reason for that, since the begging of the times, individuals share common concerns and thoughts. Such as having a shelter, maintaining their live with good conditions, even though the definition of these topics may change depends on the age of the individuals living in it, for example having shelter ones means a good cage now this definition stands for a flat, or a house, the core of this issues will be remained the same. Therefore, understanding the past will light the new roads that humans are heading.

To conclude, although history in many levels are not relevant with what is happening now in the world, since the great number of things have already been changed. I believe that it is vital to learn the past, as human beings are still sharing many common grounds with their ancestors such as feelings and the fundamental life needs.