Nowadays we can watch entertainment performance from the screens and no need to watch it live.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world entertainment performances can easily watch through screens, therefore some argue that watching live of them become unnecessary. I do not agree with the statement because the atmosphere and distraction problems.

Although many plays, operas are recently one click away from their audience, a real interaction only can provide by being in the theatre. As, the human nature is mainly based on the senses, reaching as many senses as possible might have important roles on participants understanding of the performance. For instance, some experiences such as hearing the acoustics, smelling the stage dusts not only can boost the audience appreciation to the performance, but also allow them to leave the play with a high satisfaction.

Moreover, watching a live performance via laptop or TV usually comes along with distractions which causes to not fully understand about it. This is because, being able to stop the video anytime the audience wants, provides a sense of relaxation and reduce the perception of importances to the play. For example, due to the COVID-19 lockdown, theatres were closed in Turkey for two months and the Cultural Ministry uploaded many operas on their YouTube channel for their citizens to watch it, however viewing numbers were relatively lower than the normal audience numbers since many of the citizens prefers to watch with their bare eyes.

To conclude, although it is convenient to access entertainment performances from the screens, I do not think this development can take the place of the old-fashioned performance watching because the experience which is provided to the participants and receiving attention to the play from them would not be in the same level.